Identity 1

In last post, I talked about my identity in Christ.

How do I find my identity in Christ? What does God say about me? And how do I keep my focus on God’s identity of me and not of the world?

I want to explore these questions for myself because the world’s identity depicts so many things that a person can drown in them. I know I cannot answer these all in one post so there may be several short pieces as I explore the Bible.

Exploring Identity

Over the years, we have become people who want quick and visual answers. Everywhere you look, there is some type of ad about beauty, food, products, etc. The ads are always short (to-the-point) and of course visually appealing. Though this totally makes sense from a marketing perspective but some how we have applied this concept to our lives. We want quick and visual answers and we also respond this way and communicate this way. Some where in this concept, we began accepting the worldly views as our identity. Such as: wearing this brand, using this makeup, applying this cream to look younger, eating this food for diet, driving this car, getting the high position at work, & the list goes on. There is nothing wrong with any of these. It is a problem when they start becoming your focus, the thing you live for (the idol).

What is identity? Simply…it is who we are. It tells others who we are. If it tells people who we are, then shouldn’t the first thing be Christ? Yes, but not in the sense that I verbally declare to every person I meet that I am a Christian. It is not to simply declare you’re a believer but live it. The pharisees were believers of God but they had their eyes fixed on legalization.

I truly believe that the key to finding our identity is understanding Christ’s identity first. When I think about Christ’s identity, the first thing that comes to my mind is LOVE. He was full of love, to the rich & poor alike. He did not treat one favorably and not the other. He was fair.

If I look at my life, am I full of love, without bias and treat others fairly? I wish I could say yes but that would be a lie. I have failed at times. And the reasons for failing is not that I don’t like others, it is usually of selfish reasons. I’m sure of it. If I was rude to someone, it is probably because of some reason that involved the word “I” in it.

Though I barely touched on the questions, I want to end here with a verse & question.

“Your attitude should be the same that Christ Jesus had.”   Philippians 2:5 (NLT)

Question for your own thinking: Does your attitude reflect Christ?

2 thoughts on “Identity 1

  1. civilwords says:

    Hi Nin,

    Enjoyed your post. The concept of identity is so powerful. When we live through Christ our whole perspective changes. Your entry reminded me of two of my favorite verses.

    2 Corinthians 5:17 “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.”

    Galatians 2:20 “I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

    These verses are ones that have truly impacted my life. Hope you enjoy them as well. Looking forward to your next post!

    • simplynin809 says:

      Thank you for these verses! These will help me with my search & trying to understand what God has for me. I agree that the concept of identity is powerful.

      Every human has a longing to be known. Not everyone comes to Christ to find their identity, it just doesn’t sound normal. The world has set so many pics of identities that altering our bodies or doing this or that sounds normal to us. It is a war. We cannot conform to the worldly ways.

Leave a comment