Identity in Christ

“Your identity is found in me,” says the Lord.

These were the words that kept repeating in my mind all day.

There was a reason that God kept reminding me this. That evening, I didn’t want to be home alone and to avoid a pity party, I decided to go out with a friend. It was a challenge for me. But I went out with this friend anyway. We were enjoying ourselves but I kept struggling with thoughts of jealousy. I started comparing myself with her life. I started wondering what she had that I didn’t have…and the thought continued in this direction.

Then, I remembered what God had been saying to me all day. My emotions wanted to take control but I knew that this was not who I was and having those things wasn’t going to satisfy me. Because my identity, my meaning, my worth are found in Christ alone.

We live in a world that constantly tells us what our identity should look like. It is tough trying to battle the worldly views. But God calls us to be the light of the world. This is another lesson God is teaching me. Teaching me to stop making the worldly things (idols) the center of your life. Your identity should be in Christ and him alone.

 

 

Leave a comment